8 Films From BFI Flare Festival 2024

Carol Saint Martin
4 min readMar 25, 2024
Photo by author

And so, BFI Flare 2024 has come and gone and I miss it already! For those of you who don’t know, BFI Flare is a queer festival which aims to showcase some of the best LGBTQ+ films and filmmakers in the world, with a two-week run, now in its 38th year, which seems almost unbelievable. It is my favourite film festival in London, as both a queer person and a film buff, and every year I try to go to as many as I can.

This year, I’m bringing you 8 mini-reviews of some of the films I saw. Check them out!

.
.
.

Reas (2024, dir. Lola Arias)

A documentary with songs! A documusical — is that a thing? If not, I just coined it! Argentinian’s offering at this year’s Flare follows a group of women incarcerated at Caseros as they re-enact their lives and sentences, through whimsical and fun songs.

It’s such a cute and unusual film, that nevertheless hits you in the feels with tis depiction of friendship and family.

Riley (2024, dir. Benjamin Howard)

Dakota Riley (Jake Holley) is a high school football player struggling with his sexuality as well as his crush on his best friend, in this American coming-of-age film. It’s an enjoyable film, with a great…

--

--

Carol Saint Martin

Screenwriter. Playwright. Film blogger. Amusing fourth thing.